Skip to main content

Academy Sides Announce Pre-Season Friendlies

Academy Manager Dave Wright

Image by: Phil Greig

PUBLISHED

10:00 6th July 2014

Potters youngsters prepare for 2014/15 campaign...


STOKE CITY'S youngsters will take part in a number of pre-season friendlies as both the Under-21s and Under-18s prepare for their upcoming 2014/15 campaigns.

Glyn Hodges' Under-21 squad will play five matches against varied opposition, whilst also embarking on a pre-season training camp in Brighton.

And it'll be on that week-long trip to the South Coast where they'll play in their opening game against Bognor Regis.

The Potters will take on The Rocks at Nyewood Lane on Tuesday 15th July (kick off 7.45pm).

They'll then face Newcastle Town on Saturday 25th July (3.00pm) before coming up against Congleton Town on Tuesday 29th July (7.00pm).

Witton Albion lie in wait on Tuesday 5th August (7.45pm) before pre-season is rounded off with a game against Rhyl on Saturday 9th August (3.00pm).

Meanwhile, Stoke's Under-18s will head to Austria in their pre-season training before returning to host Birmingham City on Saturday 26th July (12 noon).

John Perkins will also put out a team for the visits of Wrexham on Tuesday 29th July (2.00pm) and Hull City on Saturday 2nd August (2.00pm).

Further home games follow against Cardiff City (Tuesday 5th August, 12.30pm) and Sheffield Wednesday (Saturday 9th August, 11.30am).

An announcement regarding both Under-21 and Under-18 Premier League fixtures will be made in due course.

Under-21s Pre-Season Fixtures
Tue 15th Jul - Bognor Regis (a) 7.45pm
Sat 26th Jul - Newcastle Town (a) 3.00pm
Tue 29th Jul - Congleton Town (a) 7.00pm
Tue 5th Aug - Witton Albion (a) 7.45pm
Sat 9th Aug - Rhyl (a) 3.00pm

Under-18s Pre-Season Fixtures
Sat 26th Jul - Birmingham City (h) 12 noon
Tue 29th Jul - Wrexham (h) 2.00pm
Sat 2nd Aug - Hull City (h) 2.00pm
Tue 5th Aug - Cardiff City (h) 12.30pm
Sat 9th Aug - Sheffield Wednesday (h) 11.30am

Fixtures subject to change

    Related Articles