Skip to main content

Potters Retained List

Britannia Stadium

Image by: Phil Greig


15:30 23rd May 2014

Etherington departs following completion of 2013/14 season...

STOKE CITY can announce the Club's retained list following the completion of the 2013/14 Barclays Premier League season.

Long-serving winger Matthew Etherington is the only first team squad member certain to be leaving the Britannia Stadium, whilst goalkeeper Thomas Sorensen has been offered a new contract.

Defender Andy Wilkinson, whose current contract was also set to expire at the end of June, has already agreed a new one-year deal with the option of a further twelve months.

The departure of Etherington brings down the curtain of his highly successful five-and-a-half year spell with the Potters.

Joining from West Ham United in the 2009 January Transfer Window, the tricky winger proved to be an influential figure in City's surge up the table and successful battle against the drop.

At the end of his first full season with Stoke, his fantastic performances earned him the coveted Player of the Year award, whilst the following campaign saw him score the opening goal in the 5-0 triumph over Bolton Wanderers in the FA Cup Semi Final at Wembley.

Etherington also played his part in the Club's first European campaign since 1975 and featured against the likes of Hajduk Split, Besiktas and Valencia on his way to making a total of 177 appearances.

The Club can confirm new contracts have been offered to Sorensen and to youngsters James Alabi, Dale Eve, Alex Grant, Jack Nardiello, Ryan O’Reilly, Adam Thomas, Mason Watkins-Clark and Elliot Wheeler.

Lucas Dawson, Kevin Gomez Nieto, Ben Heneghan, Jordan Keane, Jordan Richardson and Karim Rossi have been released.

The Club would like to thank all the players leaving the Britannia Stadium for their contribution and wish them all the very best for the future.

    Related Articles