Skip to main content

Three Changes For Cup Clash

Forward Marko Arnautovic

Image by: Phil Greig


14:12 4th January 2014

Mark Hughes makes three changes to his starting eleven...

JACK BUTLAND was handed his first start for the Potters in Saturday’s FA Cup 3rd round clash against Leicester as boss Mark Hughes made three changes to his starting eleven.

The England international stopper was brought in to replace Thomas Sorensen, after he sustained an Achilles injury during Wednesday’s 1-1 draw with Everton.

Austrian international Marko Arnautovic also returned to the fray replacing Jonathan Walters on the right wing.

The final change saw Kenwyne Jones, who has already netted four goals in cup competitions this term, replace Peter Crouch up front.

The rest of the side was as you were against the Toffees three days earlier, with Butland ushering a back four that comprised of Geoff Cameron, Ryan Shawcross, Marc Wilson and Erik Pieters.

Arnautovic lined up on the right hand side of a midfield quintet, alongside Glenn Whelan, Steven Nzonzi and Charlie Adam, with the in-form Oussama Assaidi starting on the left.

Jones spearheaded the side for the first time since the end of September, whilst Academy starlet Daniel Bachmann was named in the matchday squad for the first time.

Stoke City: Butland; Cameron, Shawcross (c), Wilson, Pieters; Arnautovic, Whelan, Adam, Nzonzi, Assaidi; Jones. Subs: Bachmann, Shotton, Muniesa, Palacios, Etherington, Walters, Crouch.

    Related Articles